Crisis Hotline (800) 681-0798(228) 863-1132



Pursuant to the provisions of Miss. Code Ann. §25-41-13 (1972), as amended, the Board of Commissioners for Region XIII Gulf Coast Mental Health Center has called for a Special Meeting of the Board for the purpose of considering the matters listed hereinbelow in order for appropriate action to be taken with reference thereto as follows:

DATE:             December 16, 2020

TIME:              1:30 p.m.

PLACE:           Board of Supervisors Meeting Room

Harrison County Courthouse, First Judicial District

1801 23rd Avenue

Gulfport, Mississippi 39501


Via Teleconference


Meeting ID # 11501136016

1. Discuss and approve the issuance of Rights of Entry to AT&T for purposes of laying necessary fiber optics needed for future operations by Region XII Pine Belt Mental Healthcare Resources.

2. Discuss and take possible action regarding the transfer of assets of Region XII Gulf Coast Mental Health Center to Hancock, Harrison and Stone Counties.

3. Approve Payment of Docket of Claims in the amount of $151,000.52.

The Executive Director of Region XIII Gulf Coast Mental Health shall provide notice of this meeting to the press and post the same on GCMH’s website.


_______/S/ Kyle Lewis, Chairman__________________

_______/S/ Pamela J. Ulrich, Vice-Chairman_________

_______/S/ Mariano Barvie, Commissioner__________


The Gulf Coast Mental Health Center has always subscribed to the philosophy that it has as its responsibility the mental health of every citizen within the three-county catchment area. Recognizing that individual needs vary and that they collectively cover a wide spectrum, the Center has tried to keep the delivery capability of the various services consistent with community needs and to respond to these needs in the most responsible and effective ways possible.

The purpose of the Center’s program is stated in the form of three objectives:

To promote better living for all citizens of Region XIII through mental health education, evaluation, and treatment.

To prevent mental illness and emotional disturbances by assisting individuals in their adjustment to life.

To utilize the most appropriate professional methods in the treatment of mental illness, emotional disorders, and developmental disabilities.


Senate Bill No. 2229 (passed by the Mississippi Legislature in 1966 and amended subsequently by the Laws of 1972, 1973, and 1974) provided the structure for regional program development by authorizing counties to join together to form multi-county regional commissions on mental health and Intellectual Developmental Disabilities.

The Region XIII Commission functions as the Board of Directors for the Gulf Coast Mental Health Center. The regional commission is composed of members appointed by the Boards of Supervisors of the counties in the region. The Board of Supervisors of each participating county appoints one member to represent its county on the regional commission in its respective region for a term of four years.

Regional commissions are authorized to design programs which most appropriately meet the needs of the local areas. They may administer the program directly or, if deemed more appropriate, designate other agencies to operate the programs for the region.

Mississippi has 15 designated Intellectual Development Disabilities. Region XIII is composed of Hancock, Harrison, and Stone Counties.

Programs that receive funds through the authority of the Department of Mental Health are required to be certified. To be certified, a program must meet the “Minimum Standards for Community Mental Health/Intellectually and Developmentally Disables Services” developed by the Department and comply with the other special guidelines and regulations of the Department for programs and service operation. The extent of compliance is determined by on-site visits conducted biennially by a DMH certification visit team.

Financial support is received through federal block grants, Medicaid reimbursement, the Mississippi Department of Mental Health, county taxes, contractual agreements, fees for services, and direct contributions.


Meetings rotate on 4th Wednesday of the Month at 10:00 a.m. In the event of an emergency – the media and the public will be notified of conference call meetings.

4/22/2020 Hancock County Government Annex

5/27/2020 Harrison County Courthouse

6/24/2020 Stone County Courthouse

7/22/2020 Hancock County Government Annex

8/26/2020 Harrison County Courthouse

9/23/2020 Stone County Courthouse

10/28/2020 Harrison County Courthouse

12/2/2020 Harrison County Courthouse, Gulfport, MS

* An additional meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, January 13, 2021 at 10:00 a.m. in the Board Meeting Room, Harrison County Courthouse, 1801 23rd Avenue, Gulfport, MS 39501

* The next regularly scheduled meeting is Wednesday, January 27, 2021 at 10:00 a.m. in the Board Meeting Room, Harrison County Courthouse, 1801 23rd Avenue, Gulfport, MS 39501

Addresses of Meeting Locations

  • Board Meeting Room, Hancock County Government Annex, 854 Highway 90, Suite A, Bay St. Louis, MS 39520
  • Board Meeting Room, Harrison County Courthouse, 1801 23rd Avenue, Gulfport, MS 39501
  • Board Meeting Room, Stone County Courthouse, 323 East Cavers Avenue, Wiggins, MS 39577


Region XIII Commissioners

Harrison County
Pam Ulrich

Hancock County
Kyle Lewis
Phone: 228-297-4883


Mobile Crisis Response

Mobile Crisis is available 24/7, nights, holidays, and weekends.

Get In Touch

Call to schedule an appointment